White Cottage/ Twin Oaks
- Jay Brothers
- 4 hours ago
- 1 min read
71 Homochitto St. Natchez, MS
Circa 1852

1800-1810 Routh family owners
1810-1814 Lewis Evans, planter and territorial sheriff. Also owned The Elms at one point.
In 1832, the Rev. Pierce Connelly (1804-1883) and Cornelia Augusta Peacock Connelly (1809-1879) moved from Pennsylvania to Natchez and purchased White Cottage. He was rector of Trinity Epis Church and the only Episcopal priest in the territory so traveled often; she was Mother Cornelia the foundress of the Society of the Holy Child Jesus. They both ended up converting to Catholicism, and later moved to Louisiana.
Then Judge Charles L. Dubuisson (1808-1870) became owner in 1841. He was wed twice: Eliza M. Bradway Dubuisson (1812-1839)(m.1834) and Delia Sessions Dubuisson (1817-1853)(m.1841). Eliza came with him from the North; Delia was a local Mississippian. He was a prominent attorney and state legislator. He served as president of Jefferson College (1835) and later helped found the Natchez Institute and served on the board. Also owned Sonora Plantation in Yazoo Co., MS. Then other owners for short periods.
From 1941 through 1983, Dr. Homer A. Whittington (1906-1996) and Elizabeth Wood Whittongton (1908-1990) owned. Had 6 acres at the time.
In 2002, Cathy Stewart and Montie Chapman from Louisiana were the new owners. They bought the home from Concordia Bank and Trust. The couple is finishing their renovation of Evergreen and will sell it when done. She has a career of renovating homes with Twin Oaks being her ninth and largest restore.
Received a 2024 Heritage Award from Mississippi Heritage Trust. Still retains 3 acres.

See Evergreen, The Elms NR 1983
Sources:
https://www.shcj.org/cornelia-connelly-timeline-and-significant-places/cornelias-natchez-1832-1835/'



Comments