top of page

Rutherford County

Rutherford County is located southwest of Davidson Co. and was established in 1803. The county seat is Murfreesboro. The county was named for Griffith Rutherford, a North Carolina legislator and general who settled in Tennessee after the American Revolution. Rutherford County hosts Murfreesboro, Smyrna, La Vergne, Eagleville and Walterhill, among others.

bottom of page